Drawing Commission

I am always looking for opportunities to continue my interest in 2D art and drawing as well as surface design and constructive textiles, I particularly like doing designs using patterns in a tattoo way almost, just more detailed. I think this is definitely my handwriting and something I plan to continue doing throughout my time in University.

I worked on the design and outline of the shark first, and then fit the background in where I thought it would look best, where the tail was not completely using as much space as the head was. I included a closer view of the shark as I wanted to show the full use of the patterns I use, including lines and shapes that occupy the space. I like how these work but I think in my work I need to experiment more with size and varying the size of the pattern to see if it gives any sense of depth with it which could be something interesting to try.

Author: tahliadavid

BA(hons) Textiles student at Cardiff Metropolitan University

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started